DIY: PINTEREST & TUMBLR INSPIRED PICTURE FRAME

You know, using our iPhone’s and DSLR camera’s to take pictures is a great thing. We can make hundreds of pictures in just a couple of minutes. Don’t like them? Deleting them only takes two seconds. We can edit them, crop them, put text on them… The possibilities are endless.

But when I was younger and people took pictures with their camera’s, they didn’t have those options. They had a certain amount of pictures they could take until the camera roll was full. Back then, there was no screen to check if your picture turned out the way you wanted it to be. You just had to go with it. After you turned in your camera roll at the store, you had to wait for them to develop your pictures. When you could finally pick them up, you could then get a first glimpse of them. Some of them were good, while others were blurry, too light, too dark…

Even tough I am very grateful for the technology we now have, I still think the authentic method had it’s charms. It’s so much fun looking at old pictures, even when they aren’t perfect. Having them in your hands feels so much better than just looking at them on a screen. At least, that’s what I think.

I wanted to bring back that feeling and decided to get my pictures developed at Hema. I selected a bunch of my favorite ones and after a couple of days, I was able to pick them up at the store! I decided I wanted to do something special with them, instead of just putting them in a box or drawer. So that’s how I came up with this DIY I’m about to share with you. It’s such an easy but cute way to display your photos. If you’re interested in making one (or more) of your own, check out how I made mine!

What you’ll need

Packing twine

Hammer

Fake flowers

Push pins

Mini clothespins

Scissors

Pictures

Frame

Hot glue gun

IMG_5671

IMG_5663

What you’ll have to do

1

Flip your frame and take your packing twine. Measure from side to side to see how much twine you’ll need.

IMG_5683

2

Cut the twine so it will fit across your frame.

IMG_5688

3

Use a push pin to attach the twine to your frame. You can use your fingers to do this but if that doesn’t work, you can use a hammer. I made three rows with the twine, but you can choose how many you want. Each frame is different, so it depends on the size and shape.

IMG_5696

IMG_5698

One you’ve done that, this is what it’ll look like:

IMG_5702

IMG_5709

4

Grab the mini clothespins and use them to clip the pictures onto the packing twine. You can arrange them however you like. I just arranged mine randomly and kind of messy.

IMG_5710

IMG_5712

5

This step is optional, but I thought it made it look even prettier so maybe you would like to do this as well. Just take some fake flowers, cut off the actual flowers and some leaves.

IMG_5730

6

Use a hot glue gun or whatever glue you have to attach the flowers to the twine. Again, I arranged mine randomly. But it’s however you prefer it.

IMG_5747

IMG_5753

I think this is such a cute way to display your pictures. You can switch them up very easily and change the arrangement if you feel like it. I had so much fun making this and even more fun placing it in my room and staring at how beautiful it turned out!

11354989_10205753250183256_1681318768_n

11350320_10205753250063253_606957564_n

If you would like to make this yourself, be sure to send me a picture once you’re done. I would love to see it! This was the first DIY I did on my blog, but I’m sure there will be many more. What do you think about this first DIY? Did you like it? Let me know in the comments or leave a like! 🙂

Any questions regarding this DIY? Feel free to ask them and I’ll be happy to answer them.

Also, if you would like to check out my Instagram, you can click here.

Thank you for stopping by and until next time,

Sofie xo

8 thoughts on “DIY: PINTEREST & TUMBLR INSPIRED PICTURE FRAME

  1. Heeeeeeeel erg leuk gedaan! Ik snap je helemaal als je zegt dat je het idee van vroeger wat terug wilt hebben! Ik deed hetzelfde met mijn foto’s, maar ik printte ze uit op fotopapier. Mijn foto’s zijn dus niet zo mooi recht als de jouwe omdat ik ze heb geknipt 😀 Verder werkte ik met washi tape rondom enkele foto’s, maar dit is ook een super lief en mooi idee!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Om mijn meubels veel te verplaatsen, is mijn kamer helaas te klein! Maar heb wat kleine dingen toegevoegd aan de kamer om ze vrolijker te maken en meer ‘mij’ te maken 😀 ben ook wel benieuwd naar de jouwe 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

