DIY: URBAN OUTFITTERS JEWELRY STAND

Time for another DIY! This time, we’re making a jewelry stand for your rings. I was inspired by the one from Urban Outfitters, but wasn’t willing to pay the full price. I decided to make my hands dirty, get crafty and make my own! Although I am happy with the end result, you should definitely take a look at the epic ‘making-of’.

You will need:

IMG_6460

Plastic gloves

Water

Plaster

Iron Wire

Wire-shears

A bowl

A spoon

IMG_6464

Before you start, you should already cut off a piece of the iron wire. Plaster hardens quickly, so you won’t have time to do this later.

1

Put some water into your bowl.

IMG_6474

2

Start adding the plaster into the water.

If you’re a fan of maths, you could check the ratio on the packaging so you know how much to put in. But since I ain’t got time for that, I just kept adding plaster until I found the consistency okay.

IMG_6475

3

Keep strirring until you have a smooth mixture, without any big lumps. Your mixture should thicken after a few minutes. The consistency of mine looked like this. Once this is done, immediately pour it into the glove. Plaster hardens quickly, so do it right away.

IMG_6492

IMG_6495

So far so good, right? Yeah well, not in my case! Since I had to take pictures of the whole process, it took a while before I poured the mixture into the gloves. By the time I was done taking the pictures, my mixture looked like this:

IMG_6506

I didn’t want to start all over again, so I thought I’d just go with it and pour it into the glove.

4

Take the iron wire and twist it around the end of your glove. Now, you can hang your glove while it dries.

IMG_6470

I hung my glove on the door.

IMG_6504

Soooo, after about 5 to 10 minutes it had completely hardened so I was exited to take it out of the glove and see how it turned out! This was the monster that I created:

IMG_6511

The first thing that came to my mind was an episode of Spongebob. Remember the fancy ‘pinky’? Yeah, I nailed that one, didn’t I?

IMG_6512

351

So since this monster was useless, I thought I’d give it another try, but this time without taking pictures in-between. Also, I decided to move the party outside, because I was making a huuuuge mess inside! So, I got outside and started putting some water into a bowl. But… Then this happened:

 IMG_6518

IMG_6520

IMG_6517

Yes, the water hose broke. Ofcourse! 😀 I got a nice cold shower and was completely wet but was still motivated to complete this DIY!

Soooo, I just repeated all of the steps I explained above. The only thing I did differently, was not waiting to pour in the mixture. This is the final outcome after all of the drama:

IMG_6560

IMG_6562

So although this was a huge struggle, I am very pleased with how this DIY turned out. Don’t worry, if you decide to recreate this, I’m sure you won’t go through all of this trouble. I just failed the first time because I had to take pictures and my mixture had hardened. So my advice would be to just follow all of the steps, without taking pictures! 😀

______________________________________

Once again, I hope you enjoyed this blogpost and are motivated to make this yourself some day. I hope I didn’t scare you with my unprofessional attempts at creating this jewelry stand! Maybe this was a lesson I had to learn: if I keep trying, I will eventually succeed. Just never give up 🙂

If you haven’t seen my previous DIY’s, you can click the picture to check out the blogpost.

11121406_10205793277663918_890492735_n

11356269_10205753250143255_1012796726_n

If you would like to check out my Instagram, you can click here.

Thank you for stopping by and until next time,

Sofie Senden x

13 thoughts on “DIY: URBAN OUTFITTERS JEWELRY STAND

Leave a Reply

